View Article

 

July 30, 2020 - By Elia Associates

COVID-19 Bulletin No. 27: Mandatory Face Mask Policies in Condominiums in the City of Toronto

The City of Toronto’s By-law 664-2020 was passed on July 29, 2020, and same provides that as of August 5, 2020, all condominiums in the City of Toronto must:

  1. Adopt a Face Mask Policy;
  2. Make a copy of the Face Mask Policy available to anyone who requests it;
  3. Ensure that all persons working at the condominium are trained on the content of the Face Mask Policy, which would require that all management staff, superintendents, cleaning staff, security staff and third party contractors who perform work on site from time to time are trained on the content of the Face Mask Policy; and
  4. Post the City of Toronto Sign, which can be found at the foregoing hyperlink at all entrances to enclosed/indoor common element areas, such as all lobbies, hallways, parking garages, corridors, elevator lobbies, elevator cabs, laundry rooms, meeting rooms, party rooms, gyms, libraries, mail rooms, changerooms, management offices, etc.

Although the City of Toronto has posted a basic Face Mask Policy on its website advising how to wear a face mask, it is advised that all condominiums in the City of Toronto contact their solicitors to obtain a more comprehensive Face Mask Policy as soon as possible and by no later than August 5, 2020.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact anyone on our team:

Richard Elia

1-866-446-0811 ext. 801

richard@elia.org

Patricia Elia

1-866-446-0811 ext. 802

patricia@elia.org

Antoni Casalinuovo

1-866-446-0811 ext. 808

acasalinuovo@elia.org

Ashley Winberg

1-866-446-0811 ext. 806

awinberg@elia.org

Megan Molloy

1-866-446-0811 ext. 805

mmolloy@elia.org

Victor Yee

1-866-446-0811 ext. 810

vyee@elia.org

Jonathan Wright

1-866-446-0811 ext. 603

jwright@elia.org

Julia White

1-866-446-0811 ext. 824

jwhite@elia.org


All of the information contained in this article is of a general nature for informational purposes only, and is not intended to represent the definitive opinion of the firm of Elia Associates on any particular matter. Although every effort is made to ensure that the information contained in this newsletter is accurate and up-to-date, the reader should not act upon it without obtaining appropriate professional advice and assistance.

www.elia.org

© Elia Associates Professional Corporation, All Rights Reserved