View Article

 

July 29, 2020 - By Elia Associates

COVID-19 Bulletin No. 26: The Clock Is Ticking To Book Your AGM

On July 21, 2020, Bill 195, Reopening Ontario (A Flexible Response to COVID-19) Act, 2020 (the “Reopening Act”) received Royal Assent, and came into force on July 24, 2020.  Pursuant to the Reopening Act, the declaration of emergency in the Province of Ontario officially came to an end on July 24, 2020.  Consequently, pursuant to the Reopening Act and Schedule 5 of Bill 190, COVID-19 Response and Reforms to Modernize Ontario Act, 2020 (“Bill 190”), which come into force on March 17, 2020:

Pursuant to Schedule 5 of Bill 190, condominium corporations without an electronic meeting/electronic voting by-law can hold:

We encourage every condominium corporation to reach out to their property manager, solicitor and auditor as soon as possible in order to secure their attendance at the condominium corporation’s upcoming annual generally meeting, as it is presumed that these professionals will receive a flood of attendance requests in the coming weeks.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact anyone on our team:

Richard Elia

1-866-446-0811 ext. 801

richard@elia.org

Patricia Elia

1-866-446-0811 ext. 802

patricia@elia.org

Antoni Casalinuovo

1-866-446-0811 ext. 808

acasalinuovo@elia.org

Ashley Winberg

1-866-446-0811 ext. 806

awinberg@elia.org

Megan Molloy

1-866-446-0811 ext. 805

mmolloy@elia.org

Victor Yee

1-866-446-0811 ext. 810

vyee@elia.org

Jonathan Wright

1-866-446-0811 ext. 603

jwright@elia.org

Julia White

1-866-446-0811 ext. 824

jwhite@elia.org


All of the information contained in this article is of a general nature for informational purposes only, and is not intended to represent the definitive opinion of the firm of Elia Associates on any particular matter. Although every effort is made to ensure that the information contained in this newsletter is accurate and up-to-date, the reader should not act upon it without obtaining appropriate professional advice and assistance.

www.elia.org

© Elia Associates Professional Corporation, All Rights Reserved