View Article

 

March 24, 2020 - By Elia Associates

COVID-19 Bulletin No. 12: Essential Businesses and Condominium Corporations

Updated March 24, 2020

All non-essential workplaces in the Province of Ontario have been ordered to close by th Premier effective 11:59 p.m. on Tuesday, March 24, 2020, for the next 14 days and potentially longer if the order is extended.  In the evening on Monday, March 23, 2020, the Premier published the list of workplaces deemed to be essential that are exempt from the provincial order. The list is still quite long and can be found here.

In reviewing businesses that will be considered essential and thus are exempted from the provincial order in the context of the condominium industry, the following stand out:

As you plan with your Board of Directors, you may wish to confirm which of your essential businesses will be open for business since there is no obligation to stay open, nor can employees of such essential businesses be forced to work.

Although the foregoing workplaces are exempt from the application of the provincial order, technically under the order, a condominium may also be considered one of these workplaces.  Thus, protocols to manage the COVID-19 Virus must be present coordinate between  the contractor and the Condominium.  Speak with your team of professionals.  The reality is that COVID-19 still has to be managed and it is not business as usual at condominium corporations.

 Our office will be publishing a follow-up COVID-19 BULLETIN with respect to this matter and the proactive measures to be taken on-site to protect the foregoing essential service providers. Stay tuned.

 

Richard Elia

1-866-446-0811 ext. 801

richard@elia.org

Patricia Elia

1-866-446-0811 ext. 802

patricia@elia.org

Antoni Casalinuovo

1-866-446-0811 ext. 808

acasalinuovo@elia.org

Ashley Winberg

1-866-446-0811 ext. 806

awinberg@elia.org

Megan Molloy

1-866-446-0811 ext. 805

mmolloy@elia.org

Victor Yee

1-866-446-0811 ext. 810

vyee@elia.org

Jonathan Wright

1-866-446-0811 ext. 603

jwright@elia.org

Taheratul Haque

1-866-446-0811 ext. 804

thaque@elia.org

Julia White

1-866-446-0811 ext. 824

jwhite@elia.org


All of the information contained in this article is of a general nature for informational purposes only, and is not intended to represent the definitive opinion of the firm of Elia Associates on any particular matter. Although every effort is made to ensure that the information contained in this newsletter is accurate and up-to-date, the reader should not act upon it without obtaining appropriate professional advice and assistance.

www.elia.org

© Elia Associates Professional Corporation, All Rights Reserved