View Article

 

March 23, 2020 - By Elia Associates

COVID-19 Bulletin No. 11: How Could The Closure Of Non-Essential Businesses Affect Condominium Corporations?

Updated on March 23,2020 at 2:30 p.m.

All non-essential businesses in the Province of Ontario have been ordered to close by the Premier effective 11:59 p.m. on Tuesday, March 23, 2020, for the next 14 days and potentially longer if the order is extended.  On Tuesday, March 23, 2020, details regarding what businesses will be permitted to stay open will be announced by the Premier. 

Until the further details are provided by the Premier on Tuesday, March 23, 2020, it is unclear how the closure of non-essential businesses could affect the continued operation of condominium corporations in Ontario.  Will property management staff, security personnel, cleaning staff, superintendents and/or contractors currently conducting work on the common elements be exempt from the provincial order?  It is unclear at this time; however, the following presumptions have been made:

As stated above, until further details are provided by the Premier on Tuesday, March 23, 2020, it is unclear how the closure of non-essential businesses could affect the continued operation of condominium corporations in Ontario.  However, condominium corporations should not panic as it is presumed that many of the services which condominium corporations require in order to continue to operate will be exempt from the provincial order and/or can be provided remotely.  Our office will provide an update on this matter as soon as additional information is released by the Premier on Tuesday, March 24, 2020.

 

Richard Elia

1-866-446-0811 ext. 801

richard@elia.org

Patricia Elia

1-866-446-0811 ext. 802

patricia@elia.org

Antoni Casalinuovo

1-866-446-0811 ext. 808

acasalinuovo@elia.org

Ashley Winberg

1-866-446-0811 ext. 806

awinberg@elia.org

Megan Molloy

1-866-446-0811 ext. 805

mmolloy@elia.org

Victor Yee

1-866-446-0811 ext. 810

vyee@elia.org

Jonathan Wright

1-866-446-0811 ext. 603

jwright@elia.org

Taheratul Haque

1-866-446-0811 ext. 804

thaque@elia.org

Julia White

1-866-446-0811 ext. 824

jwhite@elia.org


All of the information contained in this article is of a general nature for informational purposes only, and is not intended to represent the definitive opinion of the firm of Elia Associates on any particular matter. Although every effort is made to ensure that the information contained in this newsletter is accurate and up-to-date, the reader should not act upon it without obtaining appropriate professional advice and assistance.

www.elia.org

© Elia Associates Professional Corporation, All Rights Reserved